treadling

DSCN7649These are the blocks from Great Gram Sadie & Her Sister, Lillie.  All are hand sewn and pieced from their old clothing.   Makes me wonder which were blouses and which were skirts/ dresses?

I will be putting blocks of white between each as laid out here on my design board.     Nothing new, right?

Well how about doing it with this baby.??  Treadle

 

She’s a beautiful treadle: just like the one I learn to sew with back in the day… early 1950’s.    And I needed to “relearn”  all it’s ins and outs… bobbin winding, working my feet, and tools for quilting.   Making sure she is well oiled is #1

The videos I need to watch to get started…. Treaddling.

It is time to challenge myself and review stuff I think I’ve forgotten.. hope some of it comes back to me quickly.   I just feel it’s time to touch those long ago days and remember what it felt like NOT to have any electricity.    Imagine, NO ELECTRICITY!! 

This entry was posted in Morning Coffee and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

