Reality Check

I have this conversation with myself about once a month… especially when I’ve filled all my nooks and crannies with fabric and projects.   Am I really gonna be able to use it all??  I mean it will take me years and years to do all that I have planned … Will I live long enough to get it all finished??     Half of what I have on hand right now, I don’t need.   What was I thinking when I bought it ?? 

I have to finish up these half done projects I have stashed around the  house.   Like use up the left over jelly roll strips of fabrics…  get those Christmas Gifts finished for DD’s co-workers..  (they all love hand made items)  Finish sewing together that mystery quilt that’s taking up all the space on my design board.    Get the Fallin 4 Blu  top quilted… and figure out what the heck I was thinking when I put together all those “project” boxes of fabrics. 

I got to Clean HOUSE..  DE clutter…  Get rid of stuff so I can see the floors and walls!!   I’m a Minimalist!!   So why do I have all this “stuff” taking up space in My Space??   I’ve over indulge my creative self with way too much stuff , AGAIN

So the push is on!!   3 quilts finished with the Orangey Halloweeny fabric strips.. and another top to quilt with same strips..  and I still have enough left over  to do one more quilt to donate to PICU in St Louis. PICUquilt

Just finished a (Hugs and Kisses) X and O pattern crib size quilt (#3) with those orangey strips.  Another larger one is ready to be quilted…. and still left over strips.. gads!!  Will it never get all used up?

a dozen sets

Got the kitchen towel sets done for Christmas for  DD#2’s Co-workers gifts. That’s a Dozen towels cut in half, sewn and crocheted tops for hanging..and a nice button  hand sewn in place.  NO I am not thinking of the ornaments I still have to make for them.. (I do one every year for each person)  AND, here’s the kicker– I have all the STUFF to make them.

DSCN6619Mystery quilt half sewn together.. That is one big quilt and still has to have a 6 inch border!!

And the following 2 tops are sandwiched and ready for the Quilting process.

falling4blusmlsampler I cleaned out a “cubby hole”  that hasn’t seen day light in over a year and donated / gifted it’s contents to my grown children.   Kept 2 purses that I just can’t part with..   There is still so much to “de-clutter”.   I’m not even looking at the Scrapbooks, rubber stamps and pictures I have in that bookcase that lives in a large corner of my space.

But it is time to USE IT UP..   If it has been here over a year and I haven’t touched it for that long, then It needs to move on out of here!!

I have a headache coming on and will have to stop having this conversation for now.  There’s always tomorrow and I’m sure I’ll find more stuff to “treasure”…

This entry was posted in Morning Coffee. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reality Check

  1. barbara johnson (GrammaBabs @M*) says:

    Judy… I think we are at the same place in life right now… your comment..( Will I live long enough to get it all finished?? Half of what I have on hand right now, I don’t need. What was I thinking when I bought it ?? Really hits home with me… but OH what fun it is… 🙂

Leave a Reply

