Pulling thread

I swear, under my breathe, of course.. another darn mistake and this is almost 1/2 done.  Good thing I keep checking.   But I am getting tired of ripping out and re-doing!   OK, Gram, I’m sorry for not paying attention when you wanted to show me the “tricks”.    Or maybe just too many years have gone by since we spent time in your sewing room.  (about 40 plus of them) 
got this far and noticed something was wrong!! Can you SEE IT?

got this far and noticed something was wrong!! Can you SEE IT?

This is the first point of the star that I put together...a couple of times , now I have to rip out and re-do AGAIN

This is the first point of the star that I put together...a couple of times , now I have to rip out and re-do AGAIN

The small triangle ‘s aren’t matching up perfectly, either…but that is Hand Made Beauty of Quilting.. It is YOUR project and you can fuss with it as much as you want.. It “carries” your personal touch.

Lets begin!!

Since we have so many points and diagonals,  I did NOT wash my fabric first.. Instructions say to wash then “spray with starch & iron” to help the fabric hold it’s shape.   Well, shoot, what is better than the sizing that the fabric has already??   As long as none of the other fabric has been washed, then it should all do it’s shrinking the same when it is washed.. RIGHT.. ?? 

Cut your raw fabric in 3 inch strips..then noting the placement of each strip, as shown in the photo.. sew your strips together.

Cut your raw fabric in 3 inch strips..then noting the placement of each strip.. sew your strips together. PLACEMENT-follow the chicken fabric and the white with black swirls in it.

I always start with 3 inch strips, even tho the instructions stated “2 1/4” inch strips.  I am only making ONE STARBURST, so I went with the 3 inch.     Make sure you put 4 patterns together in a specific order –
 This is important in order to get the fabrics to touch each other as you look around (circle) the starburst.  *don’t feel bad if you don’t  understand at this point, I didn’t “get” it either til I started sewing and matching.*
On my cutting mat, I have a 45 degree line..and started with laying my fabric on it..lining up the top and bottom of the 4 strip patterns on the horizontal lines.

On my cutting mat, I have a 45 degree line..and started with laying my fabric on it..lining up the top and bottom of the 4 strip patterns on the horizontal lines.

 I trimed off the raw edge with a 45 degree angle, then cut 3 inch strips.  Stack these all the same direction .  You  need 8  cuts to make one STARBURST.
 
I have cut all 4 of the pattern strips and laid them out in the pattern/colors I want my Starburst to look like.

I have cut all 4 of the pattern strips and laid them out in the pattern/colors I want my Starburst to look like.

I want a WHITE center..so I start with that pattern strip, then off set the next strip by one..(see this is why you have 4 different pattern strips).  You can start the center with any one of the 4 colors/fabrics.. just remember to stack and sew as I have demonstrated in the above photo with your “center” as the far left, then match the second color in that strip -you’ll get the hang of it once it is laid out in front of you.

REMEMBER NOT TO TURN OR GET THESE OUT OF LINE..OTHERWISE you TOO WILL HAVE AN OPPS!! 

It is real easy to turn and sew together wrong, so don’t get discouraged.. Matching those triangle points  is another headache for you, but maybe I can figure a way to show you how to get them to “like each other”  before I finish this darn pattern!! 

Until I do, work on getting a starburst idea.. color it in YOUR favorite Fabric.   (it takes 4 different fabrics of 1/2 yard each to make this beauty)  If you want a larger size for a bed, be sure to go to Allpeoplequilt.com to print out the pattern and instructions..

GRANNY

This entry was posted in Morning Coffee. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

